Centre for 

About us

The DMCSEE mission is to coordinate and facilitate the development, assessment and application of drought risk management tools and policies in Southeastern Europe with the goal of improving drought preparedness and reducing drought impacts.

DMCSEE was founded by representatives of national hydrometeorological services from 13 countries in southeastern Europe: Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Croatia, Greece, Hungary, Moldova, Montenegro, North Macedonia, Romania, Serbia, Slovenia and Turkey, with the assistance of World Meteorological Organisation and the UN Convention to Combat Desertification.


In past decades, drought-related damages have had large impact on the economy and welfare of the people in SE Europe. The need to establish a drought management centre as means of community coming together to address shared challenges in drought monitoring and response became evident at the end of the past century. The idea was further elaborated by International Commission on Irrigation and Drainage and the UN Convention to Combat Desertification (UNCCD).  The UNCCD national focal points and national permanent representatives of World Meteorological Organization have agreed upon the core tasks of the DMCSEE, finally established in 2006.

DMCSEE founding organisations